Our Playwrights

Playwrights at Work: June 2024

SM Shepard-Massat
holds an invited reading of her play, Waiting to be Invited, directed by Michele Shay

Jordan Seavey
holds a week-long working session on his play, Stephen Miller of Santa Monica, with director Stephen Brackett and three actors.

Melisa Tien
hosts a virtual workshop directed by fellow resident playwright, Aya Ogawa, and a group of actors.

Karinne Keithley Syers
holds a one-day working session on Agnes, or the Clouds

Marissa Joyce Stamps
concludes her season-long residency at New Dramatists as our current Princess Grace Fellow with a 2-day working session on a brand new play, St. Nicholas' Annual Walk-Bike-Skate-A-Thon, with a group of collaborators and invited audience.

Clare BarronKara Lee CorthronJessica DickeyJen SilvermanKarinne Keithley SyersCori Thomas, and Melisa Tien 
share work from the beginning and end of their residencies, as part of the After Seven Salons celebrating outgoing writers


Welcome New Members of the Resident Company!

New Dramatists, an artistic home and developmental laboratory for professional playwrights, is proud to announce the addition of five writers to its illustrious, dynamic resident playwright company: Nkenna Akunna, Hilary BettisEdwin Rivera-AriasJesús I. Valles, and Deborah Yarchun.

New Dramatists Announces Support for Actors in Memory of Lynn & Ron Cohen

After receiving varied, constant, and numerous gifts from Ron and Lynn Cohen throughout decades of service, New Dramatists has once again been blessed by this extraordinary couple. We are humbled and grateful to announce a donation in their memory by their son, Laurence "Larry" Frazen, to help support actor fees over the next two years.

Jamila Ponton Bragg Joins the Board

New Dramatists is proud to announce the addition of new Board member, Jamila Ponton Bragg. The Board voted unanimously in favor of her membership at the fall Board meeting. Ms. Ponton Bragg’s first meeting as a full and official member was in December 2023.

2024 Annual Spring Luncheon Tribute to Michael Greif

THANK YOU to everyone who joined us on Tuesday, May 14, 2024 to honor Michael Greif, the acclaimed director of this season’s Days of Wine and Roses, The Notebook and Hell’s Kitchen. All proceeds benefit New Dramatists' resident playwrights and their work.


New Leadership Partners

Christie Brown is named the new Executive Director of New Dramatists, beginning on July 1, 2023. She joins veteran Artistic Director Emily Morse to lead the organization. Brown’s cumulative service to New Dramatists spans 15 years in various leadership roles.

Kleban Prize in Musical Theatre

Congratulations to the winners of the 34th Annual Kleban Prize in Musical Theatre! Lisa Loomer, New Dramatists alumna is the 2024 Kleban Prize winner for most promising librettist and Rona Siddiqui is the 2024 Kleban Prize winner for most promising lyricist.

New Dramatists administers the Kleban Prize on behalf of the Kleban Foundation. Applications will be accepted for the 2025 Prize March 15-May 15, 2024. Click here for application information.

ND Staff: Familiar Faces in New Roles

We ring in 2024 with old friends fulfilling new roles on staff at New Dramatists. Jenna Spiwack joins us as Business Manager and Emily Bubeck is our new Development Associate. Current staff continue in new positions: Sofie Wasserman-Smith as our Development Director and Connie Hall as our Literary Services Manager.

The Princess Grace Award in Playwriting

Congratulations to Marissa Joyce Stamps, recipient of the Princess Grace Award in Playwriting/2023-2024 Fellowship at New Dramatists. 

New Dramatists administers the application process on behalf of the Princess Grace Foundation-USA. This year, we will accept open submissions beginning March 1, 2024 until March 15, 2024 OR UNTIL A CAP OF 35O SUBMISSIONS IS REACHED, whichever comes first.