What Is New Dramatists

Our History

Michaela O'Harra
Michaela O'Harra

Founded in 1949 by Michaela O’Harra in association with Howard Lindsay, Richard Rodgers, Russel Crouse, Oscar Hammerstein II, John Golden, Moss Hart, Maxwell Anderson, John Wharton, Robert E. Sherwood and Elmer Rice, New Dramatists is one of the country’s leading playwright centers and a nationally recognized new play laboratory. In the 75 years since our founding, over 700 new dramatists have passed through our doors, creating work that has laid the foundation for contemporary American dramatic literature.

Our alumni include Robert Anderson, Annie Baker, Kia Corthron, Nilo Cruz, Horton Foote, Richard Foreman, María Irene Fornés, John Guare, Quiara Alegría Hudes, David Lindsay-Abaire, Taylor Mac, Eduardo Machado, Donald Margulies, Joe Masteroff, Tarrell Alvin McCraney, Lynn Nottage, Suzan-Lori Parks, John Patrick Shanley, Sarah Ruhl, Paula Vogel, Mac Wellman, August Wilson, Doug Wright, and many more.

Current playwrights and alumni have won 20 Pulitzers27 Tonys®87 Obies18 Drama Desk Awards, 8 MacArthur Fellowships, and 14 Susan Smith Blackburn Awards.

New Dramatists itself received a Ross Wetzsteon Award for excellence at the 2005 Obies and a 2001 Tony Honor for “blessing the theatre with new and exceptional works that have assured both a rich theatrical heritage and future for the American Theatre.”