Who Are the Playwrights

Will Arbery

Resident Playwright

2019 — 2028

Will Arbery is a playwright from Texas + Wyoming + seven sisters. His play Heroes of the Fourth Turning (Playwrights Horizons) was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for Drama, and the winner of an OBIE for Playwriting, the Lucille Lortel Award for Outstanding Play, the John Gassner Award, and the New York Drama Critics Circle Award for Best Play. He’s the recipient of the Whiting Award for Drama. Other plays include: Plano (Clubbed Thumb), Evanston Salt Costs Climbing (New Neighborhood), You Hateful Things (NYTW Darthmouth Residency), Wheelchair (3 Hole Press). He’s currently under commission from Playwrights Horizons, MTC, and Audible. He’s a member/alum of New Dramatists, The Working Farm at SPACE on Ryder Farm, Page 73’s Interstate 73, Colt Coeur, Youngblood, and Clubbed Thumb’s Early Career Writers Group. Film/TV projects with HBO, A24, BBC Films. MFA: Northwestern. BA: Kenyon College. willarbery.com